Jamia University bags the Trophy at 13th Sardar Gurcharan Singh National Debate Competition



Debating society of Sardar Bhagwan Singh University, Dehradun concluded the Sardar Gurcharan Singh Memorial 13th National Debate Competition on 29thFebruary.The topic of the National Debate was "**The Development of Artificial Intelligence is Harmful for Mankind**".Total 100 participants from various Universities and Institutes of the country participated. Dr. Ashwani Kumar Sharma (Retd. IFS and Former Director General ICFRE) graced the valedictory function as Chief Guest. Prof. A.K.Sharma (Vice Chancellor) accorded a floral welcome to the Chief Guest. Vice Chancellor welcomed the gatherings and stated that a national level debate competition gives students that extra edge to gain exposure nationally and showing their talents.Thereafter, Annual Endeavour of Silver Jubilee Edition (Volume- 19) was released by the dignitaries. The war of words was furious yet laden with facts in the plethora of arguments and counter arguments made the task evenmore difficult for the judging panel.The panel of judges, Dr. Subhash Pant, Shri. Rajesh Saklani, Prof. S. R.Verma presented their views and judgement. The winners in various categories were as follows:



Best Team: Jamia Milia Islamia University, New Delhi. In English Category

First Prize Winner: Siraj Alam (Jamia Milia Islamia University, New Delhi).

Second Prize Winner: Novleen Kaur (SBS University, Dehradun).

Third Prize Winner: Prakhar Bhatnagar (DAV (PG) College, Dehradun).

In Hindi Category

First Prize Winner: Mansi Singh (Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh).

Second Prize Winner: Meenakshi Bhatia (Pandit LMS PG College, Rishikesh)

Third Prize Winner: Yashi Singh (Doon University Dehradun)



The Chief Guest congratulated the winners and felicitated them with trophies and certificates. Chief Guest appreciated the society members for their commitment, perseverance and encouraged them to organize more such events. Present on the occasion were Prof. Maneesh Arora (Dean Student Welfare), Prof. Veerma Ram (Director, Pharm. Science), Prof. F. C. Garg (Dean Academics), Prof. R. K. Singh, Miss. Urmi Chaurasia (Controller of Examination), Capt. Nalini Mehrishi, faculty, staff and students. The event came to a glorious end with a formal vote of thanks delivered by Dr. Santosh Karn (Convener Debating Society). The event was anchored by Dr.Nidhi Belwal in co-ordination with Dr.Vikas Singh Jadon.

