SardarGurcharan Singh Memorial 12th National Debate concludes at SBS University SBS University organizes competition for School students to celebrate Silver Jubilee



The two days Sardar Gurcharan Singh Memorial 12th National Debate Competition concluded at Sardar Bhagwan Singh University on 16th April. The topic of the National Debate was "Mobile Technologies and Social Media are helping communities grow in a socially productive way". Totally 44 teams from various Universities and Institutes around the country participated in the debate competition. Various Competitions (including Rangoli, Essay Writing, Poster, Philately and Photography) for School Students were also held in which more than 100 students took part. Prof. A.S. Brar, Ex-Vice Chancellor (Lucknow University and Guru Nanak Dev University) graced the valedictory function as Chief Guest and Mrs. Krishna Khurana (Retd. English Lecturer, PCNSM College, Dehradun)was the guest of honour. Mr. Rajeev Nayan Bahuguna, co-founder of Chipko Movement was also present on the occasion as guest. Prizes to the winners and certificate to all the participates were distributed by the Chief Guest, Guest of Honour, Chancellor Shri S. P. Singh, Secretary (GBSS) Dr. G. D. Singh and Vice Chancellor Prof. A. K. Sharma. The best team for debate was Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh (Mansi Singh and Shwatany Sharma). The winners in Hindi Category were: 1st prize (Yashee Singh, Doon University), 2nd prize (Vikas Kumar Singh, MMH College, Ghaziabad). The winners in English Category were: 1st prize (Aashutosh Srivastava, Doon University), 2nd prize (Akansha, MMDU, Ambala).

The winners of School level competitions are as follows: Rangoli (Akansha, Presidency Int. School), Painting (Deepika, SGRR Public School, Balawala), Poster (Somesh, Glacier Public School), Philately-Coin (Snehal Chaurasia, Doon Int. School), Philately-FDC & Stamp (Mohd. Usman, Jaswant Modern School), Photography (Vinayak, Jaswant Modern School), Essay Writing- English (Christina, Presidency Int. School), Essay Writing- Hindi (Shailesh, Jaswant

Modern School). The winners for Philately competition for SBS University students were: Coin (Meenaskshi Joshi) FDC & Stamp (Deepanshu, Ridhi & Ujjwal).

The vote of thanks was presented by Convener (Debating Society) Dr.SantoshKarn. Present on the occasion were Registrar Mr. Krishan Rawat, COE Ms.Urmi Chaurasia, Dean (Academics) Prof. F C Garg, Dean (Student welfare) Prof. Manish Arora, Dean (R&D) Prof. G S Randhawa, Academic Advisor Dr. Luv Kush, Prof. Veerma Ram (Director, Pharm. Science), Manager (Administration) Mr.Zorawar Singh, HOD's, faculty, staff and students.

