Sardar Gurcharan Singh Memorial 14th National Debate at SBS University



The opening ceremony of Sardar Gurcharan Singh Memorial 14th National Debate Competition organized by Debating Society of Sardar Bhagwan Singh University, Dehradun was held on 17th March 2023. The event was inaugurated with University Anthem and lighting of lamp by Honourable Vice Chancellor(O) Prof. Veerma Ram accompanied with Prof. Maneesh Arora (Dean Student Welfare), Ms. Urmi Chaurasia (Controller of Examination), along with invited judges. Thereafter, Vice Chancellor addressed the participants and encouraged them for a good session of battle of words. The topic of the National Debate was "Social Media is Actually Making us Less Social". The University has been organizing the National Level Debate Competition since 2008 in the fond memory of Late Founder Director Sardar Gurcharan Singh Ji with the motive to inculcate the debating talent and encourage the student's public speaking ability as Personality Development. The judges for this event were Mr. Nirbhay Kumar (Business Bureau Chief (United News of India)), Prof. Punit Saini (Head of Department of English, MKP (P.G) College) and Dr. D N Tiwari (Government Degree College, Doiwala). Debating society of Sardar Bhagwan Singh University, Dehradun concluded the Sardar Gurcharan Singh Memorial 14th National Debate Competition on 18th March. Total 100` participants from various Universities and Institutes of the country participated. Prof.Onkar Singh (Vice Chancellor, Veer Madho Singh Bhandari Uttarakhand Technical University, Dehradun) graced the valedictory function as Chief Guest. Prof. Veerma Ram (Vice Chancellor(O), SBSU) accorded a floral welcome to the Chief Guest. The war of words was furious yet laden with facts in the plethora of arguments and counter arguments made the task even more difficult for the judging panel. The winners in various categories were as follows:

Best Team: I M S Law College, Noida. Participants:- Jayanti Mishra, Manish Jha

In English Category

First Prize Winner: Raj Roshan Roy (Lovely Professional University, Jalandhar).

Second Prize Winner: Areeb Khalid (Graphic Era Deemed University, Dehradun).

Third Prize Winner: Neelam Negi (Shri Guru Ram Rai University, Dehradun).

In Hindi Category

First Prize Winner: Satakshi Sharma (Law College Uttaranchal University, Dehradun).

Second Prize Winner: Divyajyoti Tripathi (Jamia Millia Islamia University, Delhi)

Third Prize Winner: Shivani (D A V PG College, Dehradun)

Philately Club of SBS University organized Philately Exhibition "KINGHPEX-2023" in Coins, Stamps and First Day Cover (FDC) categories, in which more than 20 teams participated. The exhibition was judged by Ms. Urmi Chaurasia (Controller of Examination), Prof. Reena Kumari (HOD, Physiotherapy), Dr. Yogita Dobhal (Associate Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences) The first prize winners in the various categories were as follows:

Coins: Anshul & Sahil(D Pharm) Stamps: Nikhil Sharma(B Pharm) FDC: Neelabh Verma(B Pharm).

The chief Guest congratulated the winners and felicitated them with trophies and certificates. Chief Guest appreciated the society members for their commitment, perseverance and encouraged them to



organize more such events. Present on the occasion were Prof. Veerma Ram (Vice Chancellor (O), SBSU) Prof. Maneesh Arora (Dean Student Welfare), Miss. Urmi Chaurasia (Controller of Examination), Mr. Zorawar Singh (Manager, SBSU), faculty, staff and students. The event came to a glorious end with a formal vote of thanks delivered by Dr. Santosh kumar Karn (Convener Debating Society). The event was anchored by Dr. Meghna Wadhwa in co-ordination with Ms Saundarya Deepak.