

Sardar Bhagwan Singh University Hosts Two Days National Debate



Debating society of Sardar Bhagwan Singh University, Dehradun concluded the Sardar Gurcharan Singh Memorial 15th National Debate Competition on 17thFebruary, 2024. The topic of the National Debate was "**Establishment of foreign universities in India is essential for Balancing Educational Opportunities and preventing Brain Drain".** More than100` participants from various Universities and Institutes of the country participated in the Debate. Prof. (Dr.) Anita Rawat (Director, USERC) graced the valedictory function as Chief Guest. Prof. (Dr.) J Kumar (Vice Chancellor, SBSU) accorded a floral welcome to the Chief Guest. Vice Chancellor welcomed the gatherings and stated that a national level debate competition gives students that extra edge to gain exposure nationally and showcasing their talents. The war of words was furious yet laden with facts in the plethora of arguments and counter arguments made the task even more difficult for the judging panel. The panel of judges,Dr. R k Aggarwal (Outstanding Scientist, DRDO(Retd.))Dr. Kunal Kr Das (Senior Scientist, ISRO (Retd)) and Dr. Harsha (HOD, Microbiology(Motherhood University)) presented their views and judgment. The winners in various categories were as follows:

Best Team: Lovely Professional University. In English Category

First Prize Winner: Yatin (Lovely Professional University, Jalandhar).

Second Prize Winner: Nikhil sahotra (Himachal Pradesh university).



Third Prize Winner: Radhika Nawani (Shri Dev Suman).

In Hindi Category

First Prize Winner:Satakshi Sharma (Law College Uttaranchal University, Dehradun).

Second Prize Winner: Vidhaan Malik (Lovely Professional University)

Third Prize Winner: Ayush Sachdev (NIPER, Mohali)

The chief Guest congratulated the winners and felicitated them with trophies and certificates. Chief Guest appreciated the society members for their commitment, perseverance and encouraged them to organize more such events. Present on the occasion were Prof. (Dr.) J Kumar (Vice Chancellor, SBSU) Prof. Veerma Ram (Director, Pharmaceutical Sciences & Technology) Prof. Maneesh Arora (Dean Student Welfare), Miss. Urmi Chaurasia (Controller of Examination), Mr. Zorawar Singh (Manager, SBSU), Capt. Nalini Mehrishi, faculty, staff and students. The event came to a glorious end with a formal vote of thanks delivered by Dr. Meghna Wadhwa (Convener Debating Society). The event was anchored by Ms. Garima Singh Ms. Anjali (BPT,4thyr) and Ms. Bindu (BPT,4thyr) in co-ordination with Dr. Meghna Wadhwa.

